Back

Product Roadmap for 2018

< Back
Sankaet Pathak
January 19, 2018

Last year was really productive for us, and we plan to continue our product expansion this year. Here’s what we plan to accomplish (organized by quarters)¹:

--

Q1-Q2

[Done] Debit Card Issuance

This will allow platforms to issue white-labeled debit cards. Read more here: https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/debit-card-issuance

[Done] Interchange Processing

Platforms can now fund user accounts with cards or send disbursements back to user’s cards. Read more here: https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/interchange-processing.

Behavioral Science powered Savings Wallet

We are building a savings wallet that will motivate individuals to save money. We are primarily focused on using dopamine feedback loops as a reward pathway to accomplish this. More on this here: https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/cognitive-behavioral-science-and-banking.

[Done] Crypto Wallets

I want to start off by saying that crypto currencies are highly speculative. Having said that, people are buying crypto currencies and we want to help them buy these currencies responsibly. So we are building a responsible crypto product that accounts for individual’s income and savings while investing in crypto currencies. Read more here: https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/bitcoin-wallet-our-first-crypto-wallet and https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/crypto-wallet-v2.

RIA Wallets

We are also working on robo-advisor APIs so that individuals can invest in our indexed funds.

Loan Origination and Servicing

This product requires a great amount of compliance, UI, and behavioral science work. For this reason, we want to make sure we get this right the first time. This has taken some time, but should have this in beta soon.

UIaaS products (loans, card management, KYC)

Bank Logins UI was our first UIaaS product. This year we plan on adding Loan Origination and Servicing, Critical Card management and KYC management UIs as well.

eSign

Developers using our direct deposit products usually need to get deposit agreements esigned from the end users. So we are building an esign workflow that would allow developers to manage all the esigns from our API. It will be built on top of ethereum and IPFS.

Q3-Q4

Behavioral Science powered Debit Card (“Smart” Debit Card)

We want to do a smart debit card, that analyzes people’s existing transaction histories. Based on that information, we will build intelligent spending limits for various variable spends (coffee, groceries, etc.). This will allow individuals to save a little more money and also keep them safer from card fraud.

Behavioral Science powered Credit Card (Credit Card 2.0)

Just like the debit card, the credit card will have all the intelligent limits. On top of that, the cashback rewards would be given to the users at a savings event, instead of a spending event. With this, our goal is to change how people are rewarded for using credit cards today.

To learn more about our behavioral science products and their motivations, I would recommend reading this https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/cognitive-behavioral-science-and-banking.

--

Our goals for this year may seem ambitious, but there is no doubt in my mind that we will be able to pull this off. Here are some of the goals we accomplished last year²:

ID Verification Improvements - https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/id-verification-improvements.

Video Auth - https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/video-auth.

Insto: Instant Account Opening - https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/insto-instant-account-opening.

Deposit Accounts - https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/deposit-accounts.

UIaaS: Bank Logins - https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/uiaas-bank-logins.

ACH Updates - https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/ach-updates.

Updates to Account Aggregation - https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/updates-to-account-aggregation.

Solving Bill Pay - https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/solving-bill-pay-v1.

Subnets: Virtual Account Numbers - https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/subnets-virtual-account-numbers.

Interest-bearing and clearing accounts - https://blog.synapsefi.com/updates/interest-bearing-clearing-accounts.

--

[1] We will keep on updating this blog post throughout the year, as we continue making progress on these goals.

[2] Actually we did more, but we did not blog about everything. Also last year we were about 15 people. Now we are 40, and growing. 

Sankaet Pathak

Founder & CEO @ Synapse

©Synapse Financial Technologies Inc. 2018